Course

Stroke Saver

Course Map

Plan général

Pin placement

Drapeau rouge

The flag is in the front of the green

Drapeau blanc

The flag is in the middle of the green

Drapeau bleu

The flag is in the back of the green

Hole 1

Like on any course, the major difficulty is that it’s the opening hole. On the left side, the fairway is flat and by placing your tee-shot there it is an ideal area from which to hit a second shot into the green. The first green is relatively wide but protected by two bunkers and a red penalty zone behind the green.

Trou 1

Hole 2

A drive on the left side of the fairway is perfect to avoid the fairway bunker on the right side as well as to attack the green. This green is surrounded by three large bunkers and the second shot is therefore tricky. Try to hit the middle of the green which is relatively flat and without any surprises.

Trou 2

Hole 3

The difficulty on this par 3 is no doubt what’s in front of the green. Proudly defended by a red penalty zone, a forest on the left and a bunker in the background, this slightly elevated green is located upstream of a large dip that penalizes short shots with a resulting difficult approach.

Trou 3

Hole 4

From the tee box, this hole seems relatively wide and smooth but beware of the drive. The fairway leans to the left and easily deflects balls when it is dry and closely mowed. Trees on both sides of the fairway make the tee-shot dangerous. An isolated tree 80 meters from the green dominates the left of the fairway and penalizes second awkward shots. Beware of the three tiered green and of grass bunkers on the right.

Trou 4

Hole 5

The drive is tricky because of the steep slope of the fairway to the right. For long hitters, play a 3 wood or a long iron and look for the upper part of the fairway on the left. Designed as a slight dog-leg to the right, this two-level hole ends with a large flat green defended on the right side by a large bunker, a small red penalty area and some trees that penalize stray shots.

Trou 5

Hole 6

This double dog-leg to the left requires a certain patience. Avoid impatience and do not try to shorten the hole by playing over the forest and along the left side of the fairway. At each stroke, look for the center of the fairway and follow the natural curve of this hole. Once the green is in play, you will be charmed by a group of six bunkers which punish uncertain and timid shots.

Trou 6

Hole 7

Here you can finally breathe and enjoy a relatively short and easy downhill par 4. The fairway is wide but defended by a bunker on the right. It becomes narrower if your tee shot exceeds 210 meters. A few trees and two bunkers surround the green which is vast and without surprise.

Trou 7

Hole 8

It is a relatively long par 3 where the main difficulty is around the green. The entrance to this hole is defended by three deep bunkers and large fruit trees. It is more open from the center of the green. The back of the green is clear, but when it is dry and fast, it is difficult to control a downhill shot with a slope from left to right.

Trou 8

Hole 9

The drive of this hole won’t be a problem for players who can hit a solid draw off the tee. For others, expect to play your second shot with your feet lower than the ball. The right side of this par 5 is delimited by the out of bounds and by the road that leads to the clubhouse. Be careful and stay on the left of the fairway. The entrance to the green is quite narrow and defended by a group of flat bunkers. The green is wide and ready to welcome the second shots of long hitters. Be careful, there is a deep hidden bunker to the left of the green, avoid visiting it !

Trou 9

Hole 10

Shaped like a right angled dog-leg to the right, this par 4 is a real challenge. Delimited on the right by a forest, the driving range and the out of bounds, it is safer to aim to the left of the fairway. Your tee-shot should not exceed 220 meters. Once the first shot is successful, you will find yourself facing a green defended by two bunkers and the out of bounds on the right.

Trou 10

Hole 11

This small par 3 downhill hole is the easiest one of the course. It is short and has a large green. Defended by two large bunkers, this green can be tricky if the flag is placed bottom left. Stay vigilant anyway, the out of bounds on the right side can penalize the reckless shots.

Trou 11

Hole 12

Visitors who have played at the Lausanne Golf Club remember this hole well. Why ? It’s a downhill par 4 with a narrow fairway; on the right side: the out of bounds and a fairway bunker; on the left side: the forest and a steep hill. The green entrance is perilous with its two tiers and nearly surrounded by bunkers together with the out of bounds all the way down the right. Finally, these few aspects could be the explanation of this enigma.

Trou 12

Hole 13

With its climbs and falls, this par 5 will give you the impression of being a passenger in a roller coaster. The departure is flat but once the first depression is reached, the rest of the hole is offered to you with big ondulations of ground, more impressive than disturbing. If you are smart, you can find yourself a flat lie for every shot, which is not negligible. The green, consisting of two tiers, is protected by three front bunkers and bordered by a road, but be reassured there’s no out of bounds.

Trou 13

Hole 14

Once on the teeing area, things are pretty clear and without surprise: this par 4 descends slightly to finish with a climb to the green. The landing zone of the drive is protected by trees on the left, a bunker and an out of bounds on the right. Long hitters can find themselves on a slope if they play a driver. The raised green is difficult because of its narrow shape and slope. It is surrounded by deep bunkers and out of bounds at the back.

Trou 14

Hole 15

This is the course signature hole with 2 lakes that cut the fairway in half, making the view spectacular throughout the Hole. After a tee shot to a fairway defended by a bunker on the left side, the second shot deserves a bit of skill. After passing the two relatively large penalty areas, the raised green is surrounded by grass and sand bunkers. The green leans toward the lakes, making approaches or downhill putts faster and more challenging.

Trou 15

Hole 16

The fairway on this hole slopes to the right and its climb hides the green. The start seems narrow but very quickly the hole opens up to reveal trees on the left and right sides. The green is protected by a flat bunker on the left and a deeper one on the right. The entrance to the green is fairly open and offers a relatively good approach area. As on hole no. 15, the green is uphill and putts are tricky.

Trou 16

Hole 17

The great difficulty of this par 3 is probably the green. Elevated and defended by many bunkers, this green is wide and has hidden slopes for inattentive players. It requires a precise shot depending on the location of the flag. The first part of the green is uphill and turns from right to left (uphill) while the second half is flatter with some subtle slopes.

Trou 17

Hole 18

This par 5 appears never ending from the tee and also seems to be stuck in a long corridor of trees. The landing zone for the drive is defended on the right side by a forest and a red penalty zone, and on the left side by a long bunker. The rest of the fairway is dotted with trees and some bunkers that make the second shot delicate. The green is surrounded by large bunkers and a collar of trees from left to right.

Trou 18

Parcours

Stroke Saver

Plan Général

Plan général

Pin Position

Drapeau rouge

Le trou est au début du green

Drapeau blanc

Le trou est au milieu du green

Drapeau bleu

Le trou est au fond du green

Trou 1

Un tee-shot en léger fade est idéal afin de profiter de la configuration du trou et se placer sur la partie plate du fairway. Le green entouré de 2 bunkers est relativement grand mais les coups trop longs seront pénalisés par un obstacle d’eau et une forêt.

Trou 1

Trou 2

Un bois 3 en draw serait idéal pour éviter le bunker délimitant la fin de la forêt et situé à droite du fairway. Le green est entouré de trois grands bunkers qui rendent le second coup délicat. Veillez à jouer le milieu du green car celui-ci est relativement plat et sans surprises.

Trou 2

Trou 3

La difficulté de ce par 3 est sans doute ce qui précède le green. Défendu fièrement par un obstacle d’eau latéral, une forêt sur la gauche et un bunker en arrière-plan, ce green légèrement surélevé se situe en amont d’une grande dépression qui pénalise les coups trop courts et rend l’approche délicate.

Trou 3

Trou 4

Depuis le départ, ce trou semble relativement large et sans encombres mais méfiez-vous du drive. Le fairway penche vers la gauche et dévie facilement les balles lorsque celui-ci est sec et bien tondu. Des arbres à droite et à gauche du fairway rendent la mise en jeu périlleuse. Un arbre isolé à 80 mètres du green domine la gauche du fairway et pénalise les seconds coups maladroits. Attention au green divisé en trois plateaux et à ses bunkers d’herbe sur la droite.

Trou 4

Trou 5

La difficulté de ce par 3 est sans doute ce qui précède le green. Défendu fièrement par un obstacle d’eau latéral, une forêt sur la gauche et un bunker en arrière-plan, ce green légèrement surélevé se situe en amont d’une grande dépression qui pénalise les coups trop courts et rend l’approche délicate.

Trou 5

Trou 6

Ce double dog-leg gauche demande avant tout une certaine patience. Évitez de vous agiter et n’essayez pas de raccourcir le trou en jouant au-dessus de la forêt et en longeant le coté gauche du fairway. Cherchez à chaque coup le centre du fairway et suivez en bon élève le dessin naturel de ce trou. Une fois le green découvert, vous serez charmés par un groupe de six bunkers punissant les coups incertains et timides.

Trou 6

Trou 7

Vous pouvez enfin respirer et profiter d’un par 4 en descente relativement court et facile. Le fairway est large mais défendu par un bunker sur la droite. Il devient plus étroit si votre coup de départ dépasse les 210 mètres. Quelques arbres et deux bunkers entourent le green qui est vaste et sans surprises.

Trou 7

Trou 8

C’est un par 3 relativement long qui trouve sa principale difficulté autour du green. L’entrée de ce trou est défendue par trois profonds bunkers et de grands arbres fruitiers. Il s’ouvre et se dégage une fois la moitié du green surpassée. L’arrière du green est dégagé mais, lorsqu’il est sec et rapide, il est difficile de doser une approche en descente avec une pente de gauche à droite.

Trou 8

Trou 9

Le départ de ce trou ne posera pas de problèmes pour les joueurs qui tapent fort et en draw. Pour les autres, attendez-vous à jouer votre second coup avec les pieds plus bas que la balle. Le côté droit de ce par 5 est délimité par un hors limites et par la route qui mène au club-house. Soyez prudents et restez sur la gauche du fairway. L’entrée du green est assez étroite et défendue par un groupe de bunkers plats. Le green est large et prêt à accueillir les seconds coups des plus longs frappeurs. Attention, il y a un profond bunker caché à gauche du green, évitez de lui rendre visite !

Trou 9

Trou 10

En forme de dog-leg à angle droit vers la droite, ce par 4 est un véritable challenge. Délimité à sa droite par une forêt, le driving-range et un hors limites, il est préférable pour plus de sécurité de viser à gauche du fairway. Votre tee-shot ne devrait pas dépasser les 220 mètres. Une fois le départ accompli avec succès, vous vous trouverez face à un green défendu par deux bunkers et un hors limites à droite.

Trou 10

Trou 11

Ce petit par 3 en descente est le trou le plus facile du parcours. Il est court et possède un large green. Défendu par deux grands bunkers, ce green peut s’avérer délicat si le drapeau est placé au fond à gauche. Restez tout de même vigilants, un hors limites à droite peut pénaliser les imprudents.

Trou 11

Trou 12

Les visiteurs qui ont joué au Golf Club de Lausanne se souviennent de ce trou. Pourquoi ? Par 4 en descente avec un fairway étroit, à droite un hors limites et un bunker de fairway, à gauche une forêt et une forte colline. L’entrée de green reste périlleuse avec ses deux plateaux surélevés et entourés de bunkers avec un hors limites à droite. Finalement, ces quelques aspects pourraient être l’explication de cette énigme.

Trou 12

Trou 13

Avec ses montées et ses descentes, ce par 5 vous donnera l’impression d’être le passager d’un grand huit. Le départ est plat mais, une fois la première dépression atteinte, le reste du trou s’offre à vous avec de violents mouvements de terrain plus impressionnants que dérangeants. Si vous êtes malins, vous parviendrez à vous retrouver à plat à chaque coup, ce qui n’est pas négligeable. Le green composé de deux plateaux est entouré de quatre bunkers et bordé d’une route, mais rassurez-vous elle n’est pas hors limites.

Trou 13

Trou 14

Une fois sur le départ, les choses sont assez claires et sans surprises : ce par 4 descend légèrement pour terminer par une remontée en direction du green. L’arrivée du drive est protégée par des arbres à gauche, par un bunker et un hors limites sur la droite. Les longs frappeurs peuvent se retrouver en dévers s’ils jouent un driver. Le green surélevé est difficile par sa forme étroite et ses pentes. Il est entouré de profonds bunkers et d’un hors limites à ses arrières.

Trou 14

Trou 15

C’est le seul trou du parcours où de l’eau est en jeu. Après un coup de départ défendu par un bunker sur la gauche du fairway, le second coup mérite un peu d’adresse. Après avoir passé un lac relativement imposant, le green surélevé se présente entouré de bunkers d’herbe et de sable. Le green penche vers le lac ce qui rend les approches ou les putts en descente plus rapides et délicats.

Trou 15

Trou 16

Le fairway de ce trou est en dévers vers la droite et surplombé d’une colline qui cache le green. Le départ semble étroit mais, après quelques mètres, le trou s’ouvre jusqu’à faire apparaître des groupes d’arbres à gauche et à droite. Le green est protégé par un bunker plat à gauche et par un autre plus profond sur la droite. L’entrée du green est assez dégagée et offre une zone d’approche relativement bonne. Comme au trou n°15, le green est en montée et les putts sont délicats.

Trou 16

Trou 17

La grande difficulté de ce par 3 est sans doute son green. A part être surélevé et défendu par de nombreux bunkers, ce green est large et possède des pentes cachées pour les joueurs inattentifs. Il exige un coup précis selon l’emplacement du drapeau. La première partie du green est en montée et tourne de gauche à droite alors que la seconde moitié est plus plate avec quelques pentes subtiles.

Trou 17

Trou 18

Ce par 5 semble interminable depuis le départ et paraît être coincé dans un long couloir d’arbres. L’arrivée du drive est défendue par une forêt et une rivière à droite et par un long bunker à gauche. Le reste du fairway est parsemé d’arbres et de quelques bunkers qui rendent les seconds coups délicats. Le green est entouré de larges bunkers et d’un collier d’arbres à gauche comme à droite.

Trou 18